Old willows by the road

IMG_0035The listen Vintage Weekly: This picture is from the flatlands south of Malmö. The willows used to be pruned and the boughs used for fodder and to make basket from. The landscape is typical for the flatlands in the county of Scania in southern Sweden. The Swedish actor Edvard Persson sung about this country:

 I have lived by a country lane all my life
 and seen people come and go
 I have seen the crop grow in peace on my land
 while the storks build their nests
 I have seen springs come
 I have heard storms roar
 I have seen wild geese fly
 in the evening sky
 I have lived by a country lane all my life
 and seen people come and go

The Swedish song is written by Charles Henry and the music is by Alvar Kraft. My translation is maybe not perfect but I hope it gives you the feel for the song and the country. The picture is taken with black and white film in 1972 with a Yashica TL-Electro.

The original Swedish text for “Jag har bott vid en landsväg” is written by Charles Henry and the music is written by  Alvar Kraft:

Jag har bott vid en landsväg
i hela mitt liv
och sett människor komma och gå
jag sett skördarna gro
på min torva i ro
medan storkarna byggde sitt bo
Jag sett vårarna gry
jag hört stormarna gny
jag sett vildgässsens sträck
under kvällande sky
Jag har bott vid en landsväg
i hela mitt liv
och sett människor komma och gå.

 

To listen to Edvard Persoon sing about the old countryroad click on the film below:

2 thoughts on “Old willows by the road

Leave a Reply

